Gaja - Relief given by Fisheries Department     Tender for Videographing of Election Events during General Elections to Lok Sabha 2019    Disaster Recovery Control Room Number for Tiruvarur : 1077, 04366-226040,226050,226080,226090     Disaster Management Pre – Cyclone Phase   

About District

The District of Tiruvarur was carved out as a separate district by detaching Valangaiman Taluk from Thanjavur District and Thiruvarur, Nannilam, Kudavasal, Needamangalam, Mannargudi, Thirutturaippundi Taluks from Nagappatinam District on 01.01.1997. There are 2 Revenue Divisions, 8 Taluks, 573 Villages,  10 Blocks, 4 Municipalties and 7 Town Panchayats in Thiruvarur District.

Thanjavur attained prominence under the Chola rulers who were paramount in South India during the 9th to 12th centuries. They were excellent rulers and mighty builders. Many of these temples reflect the geniusness and architectural proficiency in sculpture, painting and wood-carving. Read More

District Collector
Thiru L.Nirmal Raj I.A.S

District At a Glance

General :
District              : Thiruvarur
HeadQuarters : Thiruvarur
State                  : TamilNadu
Language          : Tamil
Geographical Position :
Latitude (N-S)     : Between 10 20′ And 11 07′
Longitude (E-W) : Between 79 15′ And 79 45′
Mean Sea Level  : 10 meters
Area                       : 2374 Sq.Kms
Population :
Total     : 1264277
Male     : 626693 
Female : 637584 

Photo Gallery